April to August 2023 Edition

AWRA-WA 2023 Student Fellowship Winners

By Jason McCormick - McCormick Water Strategies

The Board of the American Water Resources Association, Washington State Section had some tough choices when reviewing the high-quality submittals for the AWRA-WA 2023 Student Fellowship Awards.  As a result, we awarded fellowships to a record-setting four outstanding proposals:

  1. Edward Vlasenko (CWU*): Quantifying Evapotranspiration Water Loss from Taneum Creek and its Floodplain, Central WA

  2. Shahzaib Khan (UW*): Leveraging Satellite Technology to Address the Intersection of Global Water, Food, and Energy Needs

  3. Hailey Smith (WSU): Modeling Targeted Riparian Vegetation Restoration and Climate Change Impacts on Future Stream Temperatures in the Lower Yakima River Basin

  4. Bethany Kharrazi  (CWU*): A Conceptual Framework for Managed Aquifer Recharge near Yakima, Washington, USA

*Universities with AWRA student chapters

The Fellowship Award includes the following benefits:

  • $2,500 cash grant to fund the research project

  • 1-year membership to AWRA National and a 1-year subscription to Journal of the American Water Resources Association

  • Complimentary admission to AWRA-WA’s 2023 conference.

  • Invitation to present a Poster at the 2023 AWRA-WA Conference (September 28th at the Mountaineers, Seattle, WA).

  • Opportunity to present your research as a dinner or virtual talk to the AWRA-WA Membership.

All of 2023’s award winners will be in attendance and presenting on their research at the 2023 AWRA-WA State Conference on September 28th, so come say hello to the newest awardees. Also, don’t forget to register for the conference here :)

Keep an eye out for full write-ups of research projects of award winners in future AWRA-WA digital newsletters.

For more information on applying for future awards, contact AWRA-WA Director and student fellowship liaison Jason McCormick at jason(at)mccormickwater(dot)com.


Questions about the website? Please contact the Webmaster: waawra.webmaster@gmail.com.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software